Derbyshire chef wins CGOC Award

Chris Mapp, owner of The Tickled Trout in Barlow, took home the title.

The chef patron of a gastropub in Barlow, Derbyshire, has won the Pub Restaurant Chef title at the 2024 Craft Guild of Chefs Awards.

Chris Mapp (pictured centre left), head chef and owner of The Tickled Trout in Barlow, received the award on Monday 24 June, when more than 800 of hospitality’s leading lights attended the annual event.

Now in its 30th year, the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards saw 19 accolades presented on the night. 

The Special Award was presented to Asma Khan, owner of the Darjeeling Express restaurant. Previous winners of this award include Simon Rogan, Angela Hartnett MBE, Michel Roux OBE and Albert Roux OBE, Marco Pierre White and Raymond Blanc OBE. 

The full list of winners 

Accredited College Restaurant Award
Sheffield College

Apprentice Chef Award
Jess Miller, Chef de Partie, Chartwells Independent

Banqueting & Event Chef Award
Paul Bates, Executive Head Chef, Hilton London Metropole

Chef Lecturer Award
Anthony Gascoigne, Chef Lecturer, North Hertfordshire College

Competition Chef Award
Christopher Morrell, Senior Chef - Officers' Mess, Royal Air Force

Contract Catering Chef Award
Simon Webb, Hospitality Executive Chef, BaxterStorey

Culinary Hero Award
Graham Singer, Culinary Director, ESS

Development Chef Award
Martyn Lee, Development Chef, Waitrose

New Restaurant of the Year Award
Miller Prada, Humo London

Pastry Chef Award
Michael Kwan, Executive Head Pastry Chef, The Dorchester

Pub Restaurant Chef Award
Chris Mapp, Head Chef, Owner, The Tickled Trout

Public Sector Chef Award
Kath Breckon, Training and Development Chef, North Yorkshire Council

Restaurant Chef Award
Tom Tsappis, Chef Owner, Killiecrankie House

Street Food Chef Award
Cameron Laidlaw, Chef, Junk Street Food

Young Chef Award
Cameron Jones, Chef Cook, Waterside Inn

International Chef Award
Thomas Keller

Outstanding Support of Culinary Excellence Award
Savoy Educational Trust

Special Award
Asma Khan

Sustainability Excellence Award
Anna Pazdera, London Heathrow Marriott Hotel

You may also be interested in…